donaufestival 2018

 

First programme announcements and Early bird weekend passes

 

The present, it seems, just doesn’t end anymore. donaufestival 2018 invites you to listen to the grind of the 24-hour beat. For example, in the Babylonian clamour that Liquid Loft will unleash in the Dominican Church in the framework of the performance “Church Of Ignorance”, which plays with intimacy and alienation effects in equal measure. Or the speech diarrhoea of the perpetually overwound digital natives in their compulsion to talk, jabbering the Occident to death in the multimedia installation “Premise Place” by Ryan Trecartin in the Kunsthalle Krems. Or the martially choreographed invasion of a Baroque masked dance troupe, who march towards their audience on the green of Grafenegg Castle in the crusade “Trophée” by Rudi van der Merwe.

The soundtrack to donaufestival 2018 is spun by a musical cast that resist the self-concept of the now in unconventional ways. Socialised in the post-punk scene of Cairo, singer Nadah El Shazly effortlessly weaves improvisation, electronics, and Arab traditions into floating, timeless songs. Godspeed You! Black Emperor pile surging guitar and shimmering violin into elegiac tracks which master the dramaturgy of great crescendos. The dark sepulchral voice Haley Fohr alias Circuit des Yeux conjures the legacies of Nico, Nick Drake, and Scott Walker; the music of the multi-instrumentalist merges folk, blues, minimalist compositions, and experimental songwriting. James Holden & The Animal Spirits take to the stage with instruments like a modular synthesizer and flugelhorn to realise their radiant vision of a cosmic jazz music. Hitherto Laurel Halo has been known as a protagonist of innovative club music: now she intertwines broken beats and her synthetically modulated vocals with winding, atomised hi-tech pop. The sci-fi r'n'b by Mhysa confronts alienesque a cappella vocals with an aggressive post-club sound, eccentric ballroom, and hyper-aestheticised soul. Amnesia Scanner concentrate, fragment, distort, and accelerate sound particles that might have originated from man or machine. Death metal super group Gravetemple splices the doom guitars of drone pope Steven O'Malley with the drums of Oren Ambarchi and the gurgle voice of the underworld priest Attila Csihar.

And on the last day of donaufestival 2018 a diverse array of artists will pass on the plug in the context of the 8-hour freecore format as waves go by: music as process, almost without end, but only a beginning.

 

Starting today till the end of January, super-reduced early bird weekend festival passes are available for 63 EUR per weekend.
Starting from the beginning of February day passes will be available.

Weekend 1
April 27 - 29

Weekend 2
May 4 - 6

TICKETS

TICKETS

Godspeed You! Black Emperor

Gravetemple

Laurel Halo

Liquid Loft

Mhysa

Ryan Trecartin

many more...

Amnesia Scanner

Circuit des Yeux

James Holden & The Animal Spirits

Nadah El Shazly

Rudi van der Merwe

Ryan Trecartin

many more...

The detailed complete programme along with the leitmotif will be announced in a press conference at the beginning of March 2018.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List

donaufestival 2018

 

Erste Programmpunkte und Early Bird Wochenend-Pässe ab sofort erhältlich

Die Gegenwart, so scheint es, vergeht nicht mehr. Das donaufestival 2018 lädt dazu ein, auf das Knirschen im 24-Stunden-Takt zu hören. Zum Beispiel im babylonischen Stimmengewirr, das Liquid Loft in der Dominikanerkirche im Rahmen der Performance „Church Of Ignorance“ entfalten wird, die gleichermaßen mit Intimitäts- und technischen Verfremdungseffekten spielt. Oder im Sprechdurchfall der dauerüberdrehten, unter Sprechzwang leidenden Digital Natives, die in der in der Kunsthalle Krems zu sehenden Multimediainstallation „Premise Place“ von Ryan Trecartin das Abendland kaputtquasseln. Oder im militärisch choreografierten Einfall einer barock vermummten Tänzerinnengruppe, die in dem Kreuzzug „Trophée“ von Rudi van der Merwe gegen das im Grün von Grafenegg platzierte Publikum vorrückt.

Den Soundtrack zum donaufestival 2018 liefern Musikentwürfe, die sich dem Selbstverständnis der Gegenwart auf eigensinnige Weise zu verweigern versuchen. Die in der Postpunk-Szene Kairos sozialisierte Sängerin Nadah El Shazly verfugt scheinbar mühelos Improvisation, Elektronik und arabische Traditionen zu schwebenden, wie aus der Zeit gefallenen Songs. Godspeed You! Black Emperor türmen wogende Gitarren und flirrende Streicher zu elegischen Tracks auf, die um die Dramaturgie großer Crescendos wissen. Die dunkle Grabesstimme von Haley Fohr alias Circuit des Yeux beschwört das Erbe von Nico, Nick Drake und Scott Walker, die Musik der Multiinstrumentalistin verschmilzt Folk, Blues, minimalistische Komposition und experimentelles Songwriting. James Holden & The Animal Spirits haben Instrumente wie Modularsynthesizer und Flügelhorn im Gepäck, um ihre Vision einer kosmischen Jazzmusik erstrahlen zu lassen. Laurel Halo galt bislang als eine Vertreterin innovativer Clubmusik und verbindet nun Broken Beats und ihre synthetisch modulierte Stimme zu schlingerndem, zerstäubtem Hi-Tech-Pop. Der Sci-Fi R'n'B von Mhysa konfrontiert alienartige Acapella-Vocals mit aggressivem Post-Club-Sound, exzentrischem Ballroom und hyper-ästhetisiertem Soul. Amnesia Scanner verdichten, zersplittern, verfremden und beschleunigen Soundpartikel, die von Menschen und Maschinen gleichermaßen stammen können. Die Todesmetal-Supergroup Gravetemple verbindet die Doom-Gitarre von Drone-Papst Steven O'Malley mit den Sounds von Oren Ambarchi, den Drums von Matt Sanders und der Gurgel-Stimme des Unterwelt-Priesters Attila Csihar.

Am letzten Tag des donaufestivals 2018 schließlich werden sich diverse Künstlerinnen im Rahmen des achtstündigen Freecore-Formats as waves go by den Stecker in die Hand geben: Musik als Prozess, fast ohne Ende, aber mit einem Anfang.

 

Ab sofort bis Ende Jänner sind stark reduzierte Early Bird Wochenend-Pässe um EUR 63,- pro Wochenende erhältlich. Ab Anfang Februar sind Tagespässe erhältlich. 

Wochenende 1
27. - 29. April

Wochenende 2
4. - 6. Mai

TICKETS

TICKETS

 

Godspeed You! Black Emperor

Gravetemple

Laurel Halo

Liquid Loft

Mhysa

Ryan Trecartin

uvm...

 

Amnesia Scanner

Circuit des Yeux

James Holden & The Animal Spirits

Nadah El Shazly

Rudi van der Merwe

Ryan Trecartin

uvm...

Das detaillierte Gesamtprogramm inklusive Leitmotiv wird Anfang März 2018 in einer Pressekonferenz vorgestellt.

Mein Besuch

0 Einträge Eintrag

Voraussichtliche Besuchszeit

Liste senden